Numbered limited edition Lighthouse collectible from Harbour Lights. Each lighthouse comes
with a certificate of authenticity and a brief history of the lighthouse.
6" x 6"
The sentinel to the majestic waters of Munising Bay and the east Entrance of Grand Island Harbor, the Grand Island Channel Lighthouse was built under the authority of Secretary of the Treasury, Howell Cobb. With a total Congressional appropriation of $16,000, the Light and two beacons across the passage, on the mainland were built.
First lit in 1870, the square wooden tower, resembling a small country church, operated until 1913 when it was replaced by new range lights installed at Munising in 1908.
Grand Island East Channel Lighthouse has been dramatically restored through the efforts of an East Channel Lights Rescue Project. This four-year project has built a protective wooden crib in front of the lighthouse. These local volunteers raised enough money to build a break-wall, stabilize the foundation and replace broken siding. The lantern room and its copper top have been replaced. The purpose of the restoration of this unique Light, one of the few wooden lighthouses left on the Great Lakes, has maintained its weathered look and original charm.